Swift potatoes and Gro-Kit

• 8 Replies

seeNeutral

• seeNeutral take pride in delivering cost effective environmentally responsible design solutions
Swift potatoes and Gro-Kit
« on: February 14, 2009, 21:30 »
I am a novice / newbie, this year will be my first attempt at growing my own veg! I have got a small plot at the bottom of the garden and also bought some seed potatoes and Gro-Kit so I can grow them on the patio.

I have started chitting my first earlies (they are called Swift) they were in my shed in an egg carton for the past week but no sprouts have appeared, so today I bought them in and have put them on the window sill in my kitchen to see if this change in environment will encourage sprouting. However I am now worried by me bringing them into a warmer climate I may be doing more home than good.

Can someone please advise whether what I am doing is ok, or should I return them to the shed.

The shed is obviously much cooler but does have a reasonable amount of light.

Many thanks

DIGGER

Re: Swift potatoes and Gro-Kit
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 21:32 »
A weeks is not really very long,patience is the thing.
Welcome by the way

seeNeutral

• seeNeutral take pride in delivering cost effective environmentally responsible design solutions
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 21:35 »
Thanks for the welcome, and for the quick reply. Shall I put them out in the shed again?

I read these seed potatoes can be planted by the end of February, if they haven't chitted by then will it hurt to plant them later?

DIGGER

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 21:38 »
Store in a cool frost free place with sufficient light.
I would leave them till towards the end of March before planting

seeNeutral

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2009, 21:43 »
Cheers DIGGER, I'll take them back out tomorrow morning and leave them to do their thing.