Growing Garlic

• 16 Replies

Limey153

Growing Garlic
« on: January 23, 2009, 13:57 »
I am planning on growing Garlic this year and was intending to sow in the spring. However I have been onto a website and it shows that Garlic are to be sowed no later than middle of February. Is this correct? Do I need to be putting in my Garlic very soon?

(as you can tell I'm new to all this) any advice greatly appreciated. :)

penance

Growing Garlic
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 14:05 »
Many people put garlic in late in the year, mine went in at the start of November ready for cropping this summer.

You could stick it in now, you should get a crop from it, just might be a bit smaller.

milkman

Growing Garlic
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 14:26 »
i'm planning to plant mine asap, ran out of time at the end of last year.
Gardening organically on chalky, stony soil.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Growing Garlic
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 14:28 »
October for mine!
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

mikem

• Experienced Member
Growing Garlic
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2009, 14:49 »
Mine went in on 6th October after a spell in the fridge.  All up and doing well although I had to net mine as, I presume, birds were pulling them up.  They weren't touching the onion sets.  :)

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Growing Garlic
« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2009, 14:53 »
Mine went in in November as they need a cold period to make them split into cloves.
I'd put  them in cold part of fridge if you're gonna store them for a bit longer, so at least they 'get the message' :lol:

vegmandan

• allotment-diary
Growing Garlic
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2009, 14:59 »
I always plant mine in late March or Early April and harvest at the end of August.

Always works for me but it's still cold enough up here in April to give them the cold spell they need.