Strawberry, time for a haircut?

• 5 Replies

Bombers

« on: January 22, 2009, 22:14 »
My strawberry's are looking quite healthy. I've cut back lsome of last years 'old' growth (in a small area), to find nice new growth underneath all the old foliage. Would you clear the bed now??... or wait until the weather improves a little. I'm a bit worried that the exposed young growth will be checked by a bad frosts...??? what's the general consensus of opinion out there my fellow gardening experts? :roll:
Life begins... On the kitchen windowsill.

pushrod

« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 22:18 »
strawberrys seem very hardy but i think i would leave it a few weeks for some warmer weather just in case - i'm no expert on strawberrys mind :wink:
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 23:17 »
Strawberries come under the 'tough as old boots' category and will easily come through some cleanup pruning of old growth. But if you're still worried, trim off the old growth and just drop it on top for a while. When the weather is better you can gently rake it all off.

Bombers

« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2009, 08:57 »
Thanks Trillium/Pushrod. My thought was that in clearing the old growth, I would expose some of the undesirables (Bugs'n'slugs) to the weather. This will be their second year, so they're well established (Marshmallows) what do you think?

Salmo

« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2009, 11:32 »
The old way around Wisbech used to be to choose a dry day to ruffle up the old straw between the rows and set fire to it. Got rid of the old straw, burned off all the dead leaves and killed the bugs. Cannot remember whether this used to happen in the Autumn or Spring.

Trillium

« Reply #5 on: January 23, 2009, 15:17 »