absolute beginner

• 8 Replies

scotty

absolute beginner
« on: January 20, 2009, 11:15 »
Hi, sure you have all heard this before....i'm a beginner and new to veg and fruit growing, i do believe this coming year will be a very steep learning curve. read as much as i can, but most info for seeding,planting etc is all based on the south timings. can anyone advise on good old scottish timings? and yes as i write we do have snow on the ground!

cheers
oh no, another pair of leaky wellies!

Celtic Eagle

• The Eagle's Nest
absolute beginner
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 12:29 »
Hi Scotty

Welcome to the forums

Right about 1 thing mate it will be a steep learning curve. But remember this is a hobby don't let it become a chore Learn a bit do a bit . I've been gardening for over 30 years and still learning .

Scottish timing I can't help with but somebody will know. at a rough guess 3 to 4 weeks behind maybe

Good luck and have fun
Blessed Be
Celtic Eagle

Everything grows green for a Celt

Mostly organic 'cept weedkiller and slugs

rictic

• Experienced Member
absolute beginner
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 21:18 »
Hello.
First of all you have found an excellent site that is full of grerat advice and information, don't be afraid to ask questions no matter how basic.
My advice from one (fairly new) allotment holder to another would be, do what it says on the label and keep it simple.
Enjoy.
Keep the faith.
Rictic.

puravida

• Experienced Member
absolute beginner
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2009, 21:43 »
I'd wholeheartedly agree with these two - step by step, bit by bit.

And it's amazing how much you'll learn from just throwing a few seeds in the ground and seeing what happens. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

I've finally made that crucial mental step to accepting this will never be a 'complete' project!

Always evolving, always something needs doing or digging, or researching or planting.
Good beer, good BBQ and good friends.

Yorkie