soil improvement

• 6 Replies

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
soil improvement
« on: November 13, 2008, 10:30 »
can someone please give me a bit of guidance.

The garden i have to grow my veg has poor soil and is very black n dusty it looks as if a lot of soot has been added over the years.It tends to  go greeny looking in the winter. :shock: There is yellowish clay subsoil.  I know if i added loads of manure or mushroom compost that would help BUT i live down a terrace with no road access and my back is just not up to barrowing loads of stuff down from the road.  :cry:
I started composting in march but am only getting a very small amount. Think it would take years to make any difference.

I have no experience with green manures...are these the way for me to go?

Or any other ideas please

compostqueen

soil improvement
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2008, 11:41 »
It doesn't sound very healthy does it, and without importing loads of bulky organic matters to add to it then there's not much you can do other than the home compost which won't help you immediately.  

The green algae might be a sign that it's holding water (heavy clay and clay subsoil)  Heavy clay needs lightening with the addition of the above materials and I can't think of a quick fix

Sorry  

Leaf mould is good too so hang on to any leaves, or go out and collect some and leave those to rot down for a year.  Again, long term but if you start now ...  :D

woodburner

soil improvement
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2008, 12:58 »
Green manure does indeed sound the way to go. Buckwheat has deep roots and lots of foliage, so should help with both the clay and provide lots of material for the compost heap.

The soot is possibly a sign that it was cultivated before, as I knew an allotmenter that regularly put soot on his garden patch. He said it helps warm the soil, so that's where he plants the crops he wants to start early.