Brown bugs in onions.. is it allium leaf miner?

• 10 Replies

Nikki_1

« on: June 16, 2008, 22:04 »
Hi,

I'm very new to growing veg so I need a little help.

I have just pulled up a few of my onions and under the first layer or two are little brown/burgundy bugs.  :(   They are small, about 6-8mm.  

I've looked in my books and around on the web but I can't find any photos that look like it except for one of a Allium Leaf Miner pupae.

A guy further up the plot told me earlier this year that he lost all his leeks last year to some little bugs but he didn't go into detail.

My plot is in Sandwell, West Mids.

Any advise? I'll remember to take my camera next time and see if I can get a photo.

gobs

« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2008, 22:17 »
I don't know what they are, but if your onion looks healthy, stop worrying.

Onion fly larvae IS  in the onion, you can't miss it. :lol:
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

Hole Digger

« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2008, 21:52 »
Hi Nikki, Ime afraid i think you have the dreaded allium leaf miner,the midlands and mid stafford shire seems to have been really badly infested the last few years,my only advice is to cover with enviromesh when you plant out,and keep covered until june at the earliest.Oh and burn all onions that are affected before the pupae hatches

gobs

« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2008, 22:13 »
Well, if you think it's allium leaf miner, you got to notify it to defra, I'm afraid, it's so much just setting foot in the UK, they don't have a clue as to it's life cycle on this climate.

subaru

« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2008, 22:25 »
Hi