New to Forum and Chicken Keeping

• 15 Replies

smiler43

• Experienced Member
« on: March 23, 2008, 15:50 »
:D Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here.  Hubby is in the process of making our hen house, we are looking at getting 3 Black Rocks, I'm wanting a little advice.  

Can we use wood stainer on the inside and outside of the house?
Which weldmesh is best for the run?

I'm really worried about foxes/rats having read quite a few topics about them now!  We do have a few mice also in the garage at times as we have a playing field to the back of the house.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated  :D

Viv

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.oldmotherhubbardsgarden.blogspot.com
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2008, 16:03 »
Hi and welcome. You should use an animal friendly wood stain, I am sure someone will help you more as they read your questions.
You should do your best to deter pests and there is quite a lot of advice on the Poultry Pages. Rats are a natural occurance especially as you live next to playing fields.
You will enjoy this site everyone is very friendly. good luck with your venture and your first eggs.
Happiest in the countryside.
Breathe deeply, and let the butterflies fly in formation!

Kazoo

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2008, 16:10 »
Hi and welcome

You will find loads of good advice here!
I have had my 3 black rocks for a year now, you will really enjoy them they are such endearing creatures and very tame, if a bit noisy sometimes.  You will also have eggs galore as they are laying machines!
I was advised to use a waterbased stain on my wooden coop - not sure if thats right but the girls are fine.  Sure someone will be along shortly on that one!