Why won't my cabbages heart up?

• 13 Replies

Ian_P

• Experienced Member
« on: March 08, 2008, 17:29 »
I am in my third year on the allotment and have consistently failed to grow summer or winter cabbages from seed or plants. Each time they have produced very healthy looking plants that are a mass of loose leaves and no heart. The only mild success was a couple of very small and miserable looking red cabbages last year. I have tried several varieties, Greyhound and Autumn King come to mind, but I think the ones in the ground now, since about August when I bought them as plants, are Tundra.

Any ideas please?

Thanks
Ian

Feeding the mini-beasts of Hampshire

gobs

« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2008, 18:15 »
Oh, I thought it was just this year's late lot as for a lot of us, I blame the no summer.

But generally is different. :shock:  They are said not to heart up in shade and kalium sulphate can help with hearting, have no other idea. Never before had the problem , so do not know if it does work, but worth a try.
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

mkhenry

Re: Why won't my cabbages heart up?
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2008, 18:24 »
Quote from: "Ian_P"
I am in my third year on the allotment and have consistently failed to grow summer or winter cabbages from seed or plants. Each time they have produced very healthy looking plants that are a mass of loose leaves and no heart. The only mild success was a couple of very small and miserable looking red cabbages last year. I have tried several varieties, Greyhound and Autumn King come to mind, but I think the ones in the ground now, since about August when I bought them as plants, are Tundra.

Any ideas please?

Thanks

One of the main reasons for brassicas failing to heart up,  is failing to plant them firmly enough.