Green chillies

• 18 Replies

Grubbypaws

Green chillies
« on: September 22, 2019, 16:09 »
I have lots of green chillies with no signs of any turning red. This is my first year growing them. If they had turned red I was going to make a ristra and hang them up to dry. Can I do the same thing with green chillies?

Grubbypaws

Re: Green chillies
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2019, 08:47 »
Or should I freeze them instead?  :unsure:

Plot94

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2019, 09:12 »
I would leave them to ripen, some varieties will ripen earlier than others. My Trinidad Scorpion are producing bucket loads of red chillies now but the Lemon Chilli are still green and in previous years have not ripened until mid-October. Sometimes you can encourage them to ripen by treating them mean, stop feeding or watering and the plants will panic and fruits ripen quicker.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2019, 11:21 »
I'd agree with leaving them longer to ripen and also treat them a bit mean if you want red fruits.  Cut the feed out and water sparingly.

If you want to preserve some now, drying them might be  bit more problematic than for red ones as the seeds and membranes inside will be a lot wetter and more fleshy, so there is more chance of rotting.  I'd use a dehydrator or a low oven and stick a knife tip into each one, so the hot air can get inside.

They will freeze well and I often do this.  I just use a microplane grater and grate them into stuff straight from the freezer  :)

Grubbypaws

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2019, 13:41 »
They will freeze well and I often do this.  I just use a microplane grater and grate them into stuff straight from the freezer  :)

Do you remove the stems before freezing?

Plot 1 Problems

• Global Moderator
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2019, 13:58 »

Do you remove the stems before freezing?

I leave the stems on, doesn't cause any problems!

simon hughes

« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2019, 08:16 »