Sweetcorn seeds

• 26 Replies

Rob the rake

Sweetcorn seeds
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2008, 10:22 »
Quote from: "sweet nasturtium"
 Went to another garden centre yesterday and again could only find F1s.

I think you'll have to order some. It might be worth trying Premier Seeds on Ebay (got my Delicata Squash seeds in 2 days). I know that Tuckers and Realseeds in the UK do them, but you may find a wider variety on the US heirloom sites if you'd like to try something completely different to the norm.
A calloused palm and dirty fingernails precede a Green Thumb.

nipper31

• Experienced Member
Sweetcorn seeds
« Reply #16 on: February 05, 2008, 11:41 »
Why do they have to be isolated? What's the problem with F1 seeds?

I'm new to all this and would appreciate some tips...thanks
Jan

Rob the rake

Sweetcorn seeds
« Reply #17 on: February 05, 2008, 12:00 »
Quote from: "nipper31"
Why do they have to be isolated? What's the problem with F1 seeds?

I'm new to all this and would appreciate some tips...thanks
Jan

An F1 is a hybrid produced by the crossing of two different varieties, to produce a plant with particular characteristics.

The seeds produced from this hybrid will not be the same as those you planted, so if you saved them you couldn't be sure what you'd be growing.

Seed saved from an open-pollinated variety will breed true, and so you can guarantee that saved seed will give you plants identical to those you grew the year before. If, that is, you can isolate them from other varieties of the same species growing nearby.

Isolation is the prevention of pollen from neighbouring plants and gardens from tainting the strain by pollinating your plants, thus conserving the purity of the original seed. This is not always possible for the allotmenteer, since the proximity of our neighbours means that there is always a chance of pollen transfer.

sweet nasturtium

Sweetcorn seeds
« Reply #18 on: February 05, 2008, 12:16 »