parsnips

• 18 Replies

harry

parsnips
« on: July 30, 2015, 15:47 »
once again most of my parsnips have failed to germinate, is it too late to try some more now and what variety would anyone suggest.
Hurray finally retired
two plots now 31A and 35A

Anton

Re: parsnips
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2015, 15:53 »
I would have thought it is a bit late now, as they take a really long time to grow. Obviously, I am not an expert so wait until other people chime in.

I always start mine off in paper pots.

Anton

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2015, 16:19 »
I start sowing parsnips in April if the weather is half decent, give them 4 weeks to show (or not) and sow again if necessary (in the gaps or in an adjacent drill) - I think early June is the very latest you could sow and expect to get any worthwhile crop from them I'm afraid.
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

ARPoet

• Experienced Member
  • I love growing and eating beans
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2015, 16:40 »
After doing nowt with snips in past years i took the plunge and ordered some parsnip tape from king seeds and followed the instructions. I am growing them in reclaimed square plastic cold water tanks and they are doing great.
I think they all must have germinated.
Roger.

Its Grand Being Daft

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2015, 19:20 »
Yes, far too late.  Feb - Apr is the main time for sowing.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

pigguns

• Mitcham, South London
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2015, 19:43 »
I've got a total of 5 parsnips growing from two sowings....and only one carrot, and that's now been slugged!  Sometimes best call it a day....