Digging and Rotavator Decisions! Help!

• 12 Replies

mrsmarieanne

• New kid on the allotment block!
Digging and Rotavator Decisions! Help!
« on: June 01, 2015, 12:56 »
Hi all

I'm new to owning an allotment and the moment I have only got a small amount done. I have managed to dig a small plot and dig it over 3 times but I believe it needs digging over again as the soil still looks a bit clumped together.

I have also recently strimmed down and covered a large area of grass so that I can begin the process of digging 2 new plots once the grass has died.

I'm in a bit of a dilemma of what to do next. Firstly I'm unsure of how long it will take the grass to die? I have covered it up with tarpaulin and don't really have an idea of when I can begin my next plan of attack, which is to begin digging the next 2 plots.

I know it's  bit late in the day to be preparing my plot but I'm determined to have a good go and start planting asap. What I need to know is whats the best thing is to do.

I was thinking of digging each plot over  (1 - 2 spades down) once and then use a rotavator to turn the soil over, however I was unsure of how long I will need to hire a rotavator for?

I'm happy to spend all day rotavating both plots but do I need to let the soil settle and then rotavate the plots again? Also is it enough to just dig the area once and then use a rotavator?

I hope I'm making sense!? I've tried to look this up but so far have only managed to find information regarding planting and not techniques/advice regarding the preparation stages etc.

Any help or advice would be really appreciated. Marieanne

cadalot

Re: Digging and Rotavator Decisions! Help!
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 13:16 »
I would definitely not Rotavate until it had been hand dug and weeded otherwise your just making problems for yourself, there is a similar thread on here somewhere.

Also check out http://www.allotment-garden.org/allotment/clearing-new-allotment-plot.php

Jason1971