digging manure in Jan??

• 16 Replies

donkeyrobber

digging manure in Jan??
« on: January 10, 2015, 15:33 »
Hi,

This is my first season with an allotment. Before Christmas, I started clearing the plot and dug out some beds. I've still got the back of the plot to do.

When would be the best time to dig organic matter into these beds? Is there any reason for not doing it now in dry weather?

Not to be impatient, I'm just keen to give it plenty of time after digging in bags of manure before I start planting. So I don't want to leave it to the last minute.

It not too frosty at the moment and there's no sign of snow in the south east. That may not be the case next month. So in a way, I'm thinking why not do it now?

But I'm new to this and want to follow good advice. There's no advice to be found about digging in January. Is that just because traditionally January is a bad month for being outside and this kind of work SHOULD have been done at the end of last year? Or is there a very sound reason for not doing this now?

I'm planning to use sacks of well rotted manure bought from homebase (it's only £20 for 200L and get's good reviews), so there's no concern that the ground should need to be left a long time, like there might be if I were planning to use fresh manure.

Thanks,

Rob
I'm a software engineer in search of a more wholesome past time that spending my life on the internet (kind of an ironic, eh?)

BabbyAnn

Re: digging manure in Jan??
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2015, 16:02 »
If done in autumn, the soil is still warm enough for soil bacteria and fungi to get to work breaking down the organic matter so that by spring, it will be in a form that plants will be able to use.

January and February can be cold and wet, and this can affect the soil structure especially if you are on heavy clay (the digging can compact the soil)