when did you plant your PSB?

• 11 Replies

3759allen

when did you plant your PSB?
« on: October 02, 2014, 14:19 »
just wondering when everyone else planted their PSB?

i'll be honest i can't remember when i planted mine (i seem to have neglected the diary, i'm not good with writing things down). i think i they went in around may time.

they have been netted to stop the cabbage whites destroying them. but they have gone absolutely mental, been touching the netting for months and now bending the the main stem. i don't want to remove the net as there's still cabbage whites around.

have i planted too early, i'm pretty sure i done as it said on the packet and when everyone else was planting them.

how's everyone else's PSB doing? anyone else having the same problem?

surbie100

• Winner Prettiest Pumpkin - 2014
Re: when did you plant your PSB?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2014, 14:31 »
Sowed mine in July, planted out in September after some time in pots, is now just over a foot high.

simonwatson

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2014, 15:05 »
Mine went in late (sown August, planted out September) but I've got it under a clear plastic cloche so I'm hoping to keep it going for a while before it gets really cold. My first lot bolted due to going in too early.

ghost61

« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2014, 15:41 »
Planted mine in May.  They are tall too, but that's fine, as they are big plants. I wouldn't worry - mine bend themselves all over the place as I don't bother staking them. 

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2014, 16:32 »
How tall is your netting cage? - PSB grows taller than cabbage does.

ptarmigan

« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2014, 16:35 »
Mine went in the ground from pots in late June. Are now about  2.5 foot high and producing spears which I've been picking for a couple of weeks.  And very nice it is too. Couldn't tell you what variety it is though - and I'm a bit surprised as I wasn't expecting anything from it till the spring.

Nobbie