Tomato has a flower head

• 15 Replies

AlistairMcLennan

• Experienced Member
    • My Garden Plan 2013
Tomato has a flower head
« on: June 11, 2014, 13:12 »
Hi folks,

My marmande beefsteak tomato plants have what looks like a flower head growing where I would normally expect the growing stem to be.  Is this normal? Have attached a pic to show.

Hopefully the knowledgeable folks here will be able to help.

Cheers

AL
Untitled.jpg
« Last Edit: June 11, 2014, 13:13 by AlistairMcLennan »
Happiness is trying something new even if it doesnt work.

http://gardenplanner.suttons.co.uk/garden-plan.aspx?p=352012

Lardman

Re: Tomato has a flower head
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 13:43 »
Can't say if it's normal or not as this is my first year growing beefsteak toms, but I noticed the same thing on my brandy wines. The main stem just disappeared  :unsure: 

odd_growth.jpg

Fairy Plotmother

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 13:51 »
I lose main stems on my tomatoes all the time! .........I keep pinching out the wrong shoots. :ohmy: :wacko:

snowdrops

« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 14:30 »
I think it must be, it's happened to some of mine for a few years, I just let a side shoot grow to replace it.
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

crh75

« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 15:06 »
Marmande are a semi-bush variety, so don't take all the side-shoots off.

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 15:37 »
Beefsteak tomatoes produce really weird flowers, not like normal ones. Mine are branching out all over the place and I just let them get on with it. Can't say if yours is normal or not, AL, but if it branches out somewhere else it will probably be OK.

Headgardener22

« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2014, 21:36 »
They're called Megablooms.

Basically they are two or more flowers fused together. I think its caused by cold weather when the flowers are starting to grow.