Stormy weather? No worries!

• 16 Replies

AlecF

Stormy weather? No worries!
« on: December 23, 2013, 19:41 »
Ugh! - can anyone remember a worse night for going out to lock up the chickens? Well, I just stayed indoors nice and snug, because I didn't need to!

I have been using one of those electronic doorkeepers for ten years now, which shuts the door automatically at dusk and re-opens it at dawn. In all that time it only let me down once - when the thin cord broke - and that was easily replaced.

I bought mine direct from the small German manufacturer and their backup service has been excellent, but maybe there are others now available - search on "electronic doorkeeper" for details.

The times when it is really useful is when going out in the evening to a club talk or social outing, and not having to worry about asking a neighbour to lock up for me.

My son tells me he plans to make something similar for his own garden, using a Raspberry Pi microcomputer, light sensor, motor and battery. Nine months later, he still hasn't finished it. 'Nuff said!

Alec.

grinling

Re: Stormy weather? No worries!
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2013, 15:01 »
It might have been wise to make sure that the birds were inside and that there was no problems due to the weather. Others on here have reported problems with automatic pop holes and owners relying on them and not knowing things were wrong.

nerdle

• The Lone Free Ranger
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2013, 08:44 »
Good point Grinling.  False sense of security.  Mine is a godsend when I'm away but a neighbour still checks...although... a surveillance camera is not an impossibility in the future!
One grandma and 4 baby Pekins.

AlecF

« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2013, 16:24 »
Yes, I do agree about the need to double-check. However, if the pop-hole is within sight of your house, a piece of reflective strip on the door is all you need - and a powerful torch!

grinling

« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2013, 19:22 »