What to use to make paths ?

• 36 Replies

cadalot

Re: What to use to make paths ?
« Reply #30 on: November 12, 2013, 07:34 »
Dyospyros - I used lawn edging the green plastic corrugated stuff that comes in a roll around the beds and weed membrane between 1.2m wide cut to 600mm the widths of my paths and then put the woodchip on that - I tried cardboard instead of weed membrane an that appear to work just as well but I'm guessing the worms will convert it in time.

DiggingDave

« Reply #31 on: November 12, 2013, 14:02 »
Hi everyone. I've been reading for a while but this is my first post. I've been doing half an allotment for a couple of years but we got our own in July last year. It was very overgrown but we've just about mastered it now.
I think i may be able to get my hands on a load of old astroturf for free to use on my paths.

Has anyone used this and what were your experiences of it ?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #32 on: November 12, 2013, 18:01 »
Hi everyone. I've been reading for a while but this is my first post. I've been doing half an allotment for a couple of years but we got our own in July last year. It was very overgrown but we've just about mastered it now.
I think i may be able to get my hands on a load of old astroturf for free to use on my paths.

Has anyone used this and what were your experiences of it ?

It would probably keep the weeds down but I'd have concerns about slipperiness either when wet or muddy.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #33 on: November 12, 2013, 18:03 »
Question on grass paths.

A lady at my local allotment tells me it's important to eliminate any grass, because wireworm breeds in it and attacks your potatoes. Wireworm I'm told is a nuisance at the allotment I'm on the waiting list for...

Surely if you have grass paths, you're creating a breeding ground for wireworm surrounding your beds?