Where to start?

• 19 Replies

AK9

Where to start?
« on: October 18, 2013, 14:42 »
Hi All,
Newbie here.
Just managed to get to the top of the list and get a plot.

The plot is full of weeds (or i think so) and from what the caretaker said these are surface weeds.
I think I can identify chickweed at this point in time (see photo below).
Can you see anything else?

What do you suggest? I was thinking of starting to get them out by hands(gloves) one by one..

AK9

Re: Where to start?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2013, 14:47 »
Forgot photo..
post1Copy2.jpg

BabbyAnn

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2013, 15:17 »
Hi AK9 - and welcome.  I'm sure lots of others will be along to welcome you and give advice soon.  As for chickweed - well you can totally ignore me but I personally would not bother hand weeding it as it has brittle stems that snap off leaving the fine roots behind which re-grow.  Not the worst of perennial weeds, but can be just as frustrating when year after year it pops up again.  I'd be tempted to give it a once over with weedkiller but up to you about how "organic" you want to start off.  Otherwise, it does come down to digging and removing the weeds complete with roots by hand.

Good luck with your new plot  :D

AK9

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2013, 15:24 »
Many thanks for your welcome BabbyAnn!
I think I am going to need all the luck I can get.

Sounds like I am going to have an interesting weekend then removing roots..

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2013, 15:40 »
I can't see anything that's nasty tbh. Chickweed is an annual, which you can just hoe off. More will grow in any mild spells, so just keep hoeing it off!

When you dig or fork over now, or in the Spring, as you turn the soil over you'll bury most of those anyway.

Anything that looks like it has a long tap root, rather than a fibrous root - then these are the ones you need to dig out as you fork over or dig.

Good luck  ;)

Fairy Plotmother