Is it too late to plants Brassicas and Roots?

• 21 Replies

nednoodle

Is it too late to plants Brassicas and Roots?
« on: August 30, 2013, 14:18 »
Hi all

I am new to allotmenting.  This is my first year and as I had a baby in January, I haven't had much time (there I was thinking maternity leave would be like an extended holiday! LOL).  I feel like I have been playing catch up all year and have consequently been planting everything late.  I have a heavy clay soil so have had to dig everything over which has taken me quite a while.  So far most things have grown okay, perhaps due to the great weather rather than anything I have done.

My next step is that I would like to plant some roots and brassicas and other bits and bobs but I fear that for most things I may be pushing my luck with as they are so late.  I was thinking of maybe buying some plants but maybe even these are too late?  The things I would like to grow are:
Purple Sprouting Broccoli
Brussel sprouts
Cavallo Nero Kale
Cabbages - any ones for this time of year?
Globe carrots
Beetroot

Also hoping to plant some:
Rocket
Chard
Salad leaves
Sugar snap peas

I am in the South west so it is mild. What do people think? 

Thanks

ptarmigan

Re: Is it too late to plants Brassicas and Roots?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 14:33 »
Someone will be along soon with more knowledge than me I'm sure. But if you can find some plants for sale - on line or where ever there's no harm in trying the brassicas etc.  You may not get huge plants at the end but certainly enough leaves or shoots to liven up a stir fry and feel like you've achieved something! You could try sowing cabbage (the seed is cheap) and you will almost certainly get some spring cabbage (i.e. cabbage leaves)  if not a fully hearted cabbage. There's winter lettuce available to sow and oriental lettuce like mizuna.