ill chickens

• 11 Replies

spicerider27

ill chickens
« on: January 02, 2008, 02:34 »
Hello, I'm new to this chat and am hoping for someone that may be able to help.  I started a small flock of about 25 chicks in March, and have had no problems or losses except of a few roosters we slaughtered for dinner.  In the past week or so I have lost a hen and a rooster, and almost lost another rooster.  I live in the state of Maine, USA, and it has been cold and alot of snow.  All the chickens like to stay in the coop unless we shovel (which we do) the area around the coop. The hens have stopped laying eggs for the past few weeks.   The hen I lost started out very lethargic and wouldnt eat or drink.  It looked as if she had been picked at in the face.  I brought her inside but she passed within 12 hours.  The rooster that almost died started to not be able to walk and would lie on its back and flop around.  I brought him in and he ate and drank and after a day was on his feet but is still wobbly. The rooster I lost  started out acting as if something was wrong with its legs and would lay down, the others picked him, and the next morning after i brought him inside he passed.  Is this something to do with the weather conditions?  or is it a disease? why have they stopped laying?  I would apprieciate any advice.

Trillium

ill chickens
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2008, 03:07 »
I'm no expert at chickens, but I suspect your birds are too crowded. They'll pick at the sickest or weakest. Also, I know Maine gets far colder than us and they could be suffering from that. Are the birds in just a coop or in a barn area? If a coop, you might want to bank it up with straw bales to maintain some warmth because you'll be getting still colder weather and they don't deal well with it.
Also, have you changed their food rations and type at all for winter?
A liquid vitamin in their water will also help.

When they wake, others more knowledgeable will have some more answers.

Viv