Manure Alternatives

• 30 Replies

Nufan182

Manure Alternatives
« on: August 13, 2013, 08:34 »

I am awaiting delivery of my plants from DT Browns as this is my first year growing and owning an allotment I did not get any seeds in of my own started in the greenhouse/seedbed (although I know that is not an excuse) I am also prepping my allotment ready to plant my winter veg.

I didn't put any manure in at the beginning of the year but have used Growmore when planting. I have had quite a bit of success with most things. I am now concerned that if I plant my winter veg without putting anything in the ground, the summer veg may have depleted the ground from any nutrients and I wouldn't want a wasted effort. Can anyone advise the best way to go regarding putting back nutrients into the soil? Should I manure now or wait until the end of the year, rough dig it and then spread manure then cover the areas until planting in the spring? Or can I continue with Growmore?

Nufan
An allotment newbie. I love my allotment, I am not sure it feels the same about me :)

surbie100

• Winner Prettiest Pumpkin - 2014
Re: Manure Alternatives
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2013, 09:33 »
Hi Nufan,
Unless your ground is particularly awful, there will be something left in the soil so no manure is not a dire thing in my opinion. If it's brassicas you are planting then most of the books say you shouldn't manure shortly before planting anyway.

Growmore is nitrogen rich and would be perfectly fine to use. Pelleted chicken manure is also good.

If you have beds that you won't use till spring you can pop some manure on and leave the worms to do their thing till then, when you can dig it in.

Hope it goes well - you will most likely get some other ideas too - 3 gardeners= 4 or 5 opinions!  :D

goodtogrow

• Experienced Member
  • Less is More
    • stirruphoes
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2013, 10:11 »
How about applying growmore once, at planting, and top dressing with manure, as a mulch?