Disappointed in the Music

• 8 Replies

shokkyy

• Mishka
Disappointed in the Music
« on: July 28, 2013, 19:46 »
My garlic are just about ready to come up now, because they're all turning brown and falling over. I thought I'd lift them next weekend but had a furtle today to see how big they are and I'm a bit disappointed in the Music. It's my first attempt with that variety.  I was expecting them to be very big, and they are okay, but my Iberian White and Thermidrome have produced much bigger bulbs. I always tend to get lovely big bulbs from those two varieties, but I'm very surprised to see the Music so much smaller. If it's location, water or feed causing it then Music must be a bit more picky than the other two because they're all planted in the same bed and have had the same food and water.

Chrysalis

Re: Disappointed in the Music
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2013, 20:18 »
Our Music was better last year than this. Lovely flavour, and keeps well.  But we got allium leaf miner this year  :(  Not much growth, like yours, shokky.

We'll have to change the soil completely for next year and get some fresh bulbs.  I also put in something from the supermarket, just in case, and it was great! Small, but perfectly round bulbs and not so much leaf miner damage.

Auntiemogs

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2013, 20:42 »
Same here Shokkyy.  It's the first year I've grown it and I thought I'd done a good job of preparing the bed.   :(

Have a couple of largish bulbs but nowhere near the size of DDs.  I think I may go back to growing in pots to save bed space for something else as the yield wasn't any different from last year....
I would rather live in a world
where my life is surrounded by mystery
than live in a world so small that my mind could comprehend it...✿~ Harry Emerson Fosdick

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2013, 20:50 »
Mine weren't good either, I don't think they liked the drier weather.