mist spraying broody hen's eggs

• 12 Replies

bantam novice

mist spraying broody hen's eggs
« on: May 08, 2013, 21:36 »
Hello there all,
I've not been on here for a while so good to be back  :)
I have a quick question.  I have a broody hen on seven sabelpoot eggs that have all candled as viable.  She has rubbed her chest raw and there are blood smears on the eggs.   Her eggs are due to hatch on Saturday.  My aunt feels that we should spray the eggs for extra humidity.  My instinct is to leave her.  I was also wondering about spraying purple spray on her chest.  What do you think?
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: mist spraying broody hen's eggs
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 21:50 »
I've never used a broody before, but never heard of spraying the eggs.  Birds have been hatching eggs for thousands of years unaided.

As to the purple spray, I suppose you could try it, but as egg shells are porous, it may affect the developing chicks?

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2013, 08:13 »
I have only ever used broodies and never had to spray them. The broodies body warmth provides the ideal micro climate for the eggs to hatch.
Staffies are softer than you think.

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2013, 09:14 »
Welcome back bantam novice.  Never had that problem with my broodies but I would go with leaving well alone.  Could it be the bedding that has caused the bleeding?  Also check broody for mites/lice, if she has something irritating her that could be the cause.  A sprinkling of diatom in the nesting material may help.

If you are worried about the broody getting an infection try applying a tiny amount of cornflour to the sores.
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

Sassy