Asbestos

• 7 Replies

dan808

Asbestos
« on: April 22, 2013, 18:28 »
Hi guys digging over my plot and who knew that asbestos and glass grew underground. I have pulled up as much as possible of what I have seen  and what to know will my veg be OK/safe  growing here if found it up to a foot deep aswell as two inch under the surface, so can't be certain if any is deeper. Is there a contamination risk ?
Gardening is a matter of your enthusiasm holding up until your back gets used to it.  :-) :-)

shed head

• Experienced Member
Re: Asbestos
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2013, 18:46 »
Er......Im no expert but ,eating asbestos may carry some risks.
Get on to the council and get it checked out

Steveharford

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2013, 18:47 »
Hi Dan
If it is blue asbestos then don't go near it. Most likely it is asbestos cement which is what was used in corrugated roof sheets and the like. Still not something you can just dump in the general waste skips but less harmful to health and I would imagine, no harm at all to anything growing around it. If in doubt environmental health would analyse it for you at a cost but they will probably want it double wrapped in polythene for you to present it to them. Best check with them.

hightide

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2013, 18:56 »
Your plants should be quite safe, the risk to human health from asbestos is airborne particle. As you removed it from the ground it will probably be damp and in that condition the risk should be low.
Now disposal could be a problem, I would use a watering can to keep it damp and bag it up in clear plastic bags if possible to aid identification. Contact your site agent or owner and tell them what you have found, please do not try to dispose of it yourself.
A weed is a plant that's in the wrong place and intends to stay

gavinjconway

• My Allotment Progress Website
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2013, 20:09 »