Quince Question

• 14 Replies

jennyb

• Hiding in the Greenhouse
    • My Blog
Quince Question
« on: September 17, 2006, 17:40 »
i have 2 varieties of quince growing in my front garden - they've been there ever since we moved in and this year i'm going to do something with them.

but how do i know when they are ready to pick? as from what i undertsnad they are a firm fruit so how do i know when they are ripe?

any experience of quinces and advice is much appreciated!

jenny

milkman

Quince Question
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2006, 10:42 »
I have limited experience of quinces - this is only the second time that my cydonia oblonga (traditional quince) tree has ever produced a bumper crop of quinces in 7 or 8 years.  I think the last time it happened which was a couple of years ago now, I waited until the rigid-pear-shaped-sized fruits turned yellow before picking them and storing them in my garage not knowing quite what to do with them until my sister took them off my hands and made quince jelly.  

I think I will do the same this year (I'm hoping that when they're ripe you can just pick them off in the same way as you can with apples), but will try and make the effort to do something useful with them myself.
Gardening organically on chalky, stony soil.

jennyb

• My Blog
Quince Question
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2006, 14:50 »
i plan to make a qince paste/cheese but just wasn't sure when to pick them.  as i say both my varieties have about 8-10 fruit each.  but they also seem very small still.  i think i may start watering and taking proper care instead of leaving it to its own devices!!

i read in a book in the library today that the fruit should be left til just be left til just before the first frosts before picking.

anyone know of any good websites that might tell me?

milkman

Quince Question
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2006, 12:24 »
Two of my quinces dropped off the tree at the weekend.

jennyb

• My Blog
Quince Question