What can I grow in between pumpkins, squash, courgettes and cucumber?

• 10 Replies

Teen76

• Experienced Member
    • Tina's Plot
I'm just learning about catchcropping and intercropping and would love to know what I can grow around these plants safely, as they take up a lot of space and it seems a bit wasted in my little garden (I hastened to add they will be bush varieties of the above).  Many thanks to anyone who responds.
Teen

paintedlady

Cucurbits may take up a lot of space, but they also need the room as well as not have to compete for the nutrients in the soil with other crops - they tend to be hungry feeders requiring very fertile soil.  Personally I wouldn't grow anything in between otherwise you'll end up with 2 crops with very little yield from either  ;)
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

JayG

• Global Moderator
You could certainly get away with a quick crop of salad leaves or radish before the cucurbits shade everything out, but my experience of the "3 sisters" method of growing (or even 2 sisters!) has not been too great, which is probably partly due to soil fertility issues as PL says, but also because sweetcorn and beans (the usual other 2 sisters) both also need plenty of sun throughout the summer. How's yer luck?  :wacko:  :)
Sow your seeds, plant your plants. What's the difference? A couple of weeks or more when answering possible queries!

One of the best things about being an orang-utan is the fact that you don't lose your good looks as you get older

prakash_mib