Growing from strawberry runners

• 6 Replies

gavinjconway

• My Allotment Progress Website
Growing from strawberry runners
« on: August 07, 2011, 17:29 »
Hi - im a newbie to Strawberries... I rescued some plants from a neighbour who forgot to water them and gave them to me to bring back to life... I planted them 3 each to a 5" deep x 18" long tub - only lost one plant...  

I have just taken over a new garden share plot and want to do lots of strawberries to make jam as grandad gave up his allotment so no more jam!! eeks!!

My plants have given off many runners now so I have placed lots more tubs around the others and training them into them to grow - I assume I would snip the runner off the mother plant when the runner has rooted and growing well..

My question is - am I doing the right thing and when do I dig up the new runners and plant them either in big tubs on my patio and flat roof or into the ground at my plot.. I'm undecided here to grow them. home or away situation.  

When should I replant the main plants into my plot if I decide to plant out at the plot?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2011, 18:07 by gavinjconway »
Now a member of the 10 Ton club.... 2013  harvested 588 Kg from 165 sq mt..

Trillium

Re: Growing from strawberry runners
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 18:05 »
The easiest way around this is to pop the runner's leafing end into a small pot of compost, whichis partly buried in the ground. The runner needs time to set good roots before you can safely snip it away from the parent plant. Being in a pot, when it's got good roots, you can plant it out anytime, just be sure to keep the same soil level or there will be problems.