germination

• 8 Replies

massa

• Experienced Member
germination
« on: March 05, 2010, 20:06 »
hi, im still new to the grow your own scene, i sowed some tom and chilli seeds and the packet said they should take between 7 and 21 days to germinate, nothing seemed to happen so after a month i sowed some more but i left the old ones just incase. after 33 days some of the toms and one of the chillis have germinated, i have bot had much success only 8 out of 70 seeds have germinated but are doing well. I was just wondering how long do your seeds usually take to germintate?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: germination
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2010, 20:10 »
toms can easily come up within a few days but peppers can take a lot longer :(

Please can you tell us how and where you sowed your seeds, so we can see what may be going wrong :unsure:

massa

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2010, 20:16 »
the first lot i sowed in modules on the windowsill above a radiator it had no lid for approx 3 weeks then i put a lid on, i didnt realise it needed one at first! the second lot i sowed in modules with a lid then after a week i bought a heated propagator so i put them into that. still not had any germinate from the second lot and they were sown on the 21st feb.

kingdhesiii

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2010, 20:20 »
I sowed some sutton broad beans on the 13th of feb in 3 inch pots(2 to each pot). They are in a plastic greenhouse and have been kept moist but still no sign of anything. Do they usually take this long to germinate.

ps sorry to butt in, its just along the same lines and I dont want to start multiple threads.
Woooooooooooooo

massa

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2010, 20:27 »