Raised Beds

• 15 Replies

Bitter & Twisted

Raised Beds
« on: March 23, 2008, 11:50 »
Sorry if this topic has been done already, (I couldn't find it).

I'm a little confused about raised beds. Basically I am new to growing and take advice from my father in law, I like the idea of having raised beds on my allotment but he sees them as a waste of time and space?

I have lots of spare timber boards and planned on building plenty of beds about 4m x 1.2m and about 12 inches high - not necessarily covering the whole allotment but maybe a third of it

Any advice most welcome!

Thanks
The rod (or lugs as bitter and twisted prefer to call it) is a unit of length, equal to 5.5 yards, 11 cubits, 5.0292 metres, 16.5 feet, or 1⁄320 of a statute mile.

Clampit

Raised Beds
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2008, 14:04 »
I tried raised beds once but now I just have dug beds with grass paths separating them.
I found raised beds a pain in the bum. First you have to make them, then you have to treat them against rot if made from timber(an ongoing job), if you have grass paths inbetween your raised beds they are a pain to cut with a lawn mower (I couldn't cut right close to the timber). I seemed to have an overwhelming number of woodlice and slugs that lived down the sides of the wooden boards and the beds dried out very quickly in hot weather. If you want to grow in beds, why not just dig your beds 4 foot wide, you still get the benifit of being able to plant closer together and you still don't have to walk on your soil, it's the same thing in my eyes, just a lot less hassle.
That is just my opinion, most of the people on my allotment have raised beds so there must be something good about them that perhaps I missed. :?

crowndale

Raised Beds
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2008, 15:12 »