Green tomatoes - call it a day?

• 15 Replies

Norb

Green tomatoes - call it a day?
« on: September 23, 2012, 13:09 »
Is it time to admit defeat and harvest my tomatoes as they are at the moment (mostly green)? The forecast here in the north east isn't showing temps above about 13 for the next week and I am not sure if there is any more ripening to be gained by leaving them out. It's my first time growing toms and I have grown about 14 plants mixed between four varieties outdoors - there are a multitude of fruits (prob several kilos of mainly cherry varieties) but sadly we have only had about two punnets of very tasty ripe tomatoes due to the weather not playing ball

Is it time to get out the chutney pot?

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones
Re: Green tomatoes - call it a day?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2012, 13:15 »
If there is decent foliage on the plants, I would leave them for now, the temperatures you quote aren't too cold for them. I have a similar situation here. If you have to harvest you can still get them to ripen on a windowsill or with the help of a banana. :)
"They say a snow year's a good year" -- Rutherford.

Kleftiwallah

« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2012, 13:54 »

I'm constantly removing blighted leaves from my tom' plants and it is getting so that it is the stalks ripening the tomatoes!!  Although I am leaving on the side shoots I would have normally removed earlier in the hope those leaves will be enough to do the job.   But it does look like 'Green Tomato Chutney time'.  :(

Cheers,    Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

Auntiemogs

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2012, 14:39 »
That's what my outdoor ones are like Klefti and for the same reason! Look most odd and the windowsill is full.... ::)