wedding cake / wedding favors / anything wedding really!

• 10 Replies

Elcie

My wedding is booked now for 27th May and I would like to make something for it, but I am not very good at making things!  I have recently started making pickles and chutneys using Val's book and they are great, but I have never made a fruit cake or a really nice cake.

Anyway, I was wondering if any of you have any ideas for something I could make for the wedding?  Cake / edible favors / anything!  I can't say money is no object, because it definitely is for us!  So if there are any frugal ideas that would be great!

Thanks everyone.

Debz

Re: wedding cake / wedding favors / anything wedding really!
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2010, 13:09 »
I got married two years ago and did all the stationery myself, flowers for myself and the 4 bridesmaids and buttonholes for the lads, and my own favours (although they were just puting a tag and bows on Easter Eggs as I got married on Easter Sunday). 

The best suggestion I can give is that you go online or to a craft show or wedding show and have a look at all the ideas.  Ask lots of questions and see what you like.  When it comes to yours, if you have a theme it can make life easier but keep it simple.  I got the instructions for my flowers on the internet because I wanted to have just tulips so I made posies.  You can get a plain iced cake from M&S and decorate it yourself.  Their cakes are so yummy and it is much cheaper that way or you could do lots of cupcakes.

madcat

« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2010, 13:43 »
Its worth thinking hard this side of Christmas - because if your theme involves silver or gold or green or red  ..  there will be lots of ribbon and tissue and bits and pieces around in January for pennies instead of pounds, if you pick carefully plain colours (without snowmen etc) 

Where are you having your reception/party/wedding?
All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about (Charles Kingsley)

Elcie