help with tom plants

• 16 Replies

DOBBO

help with tom plants
« on: March 06, 2011, 17:30 »
hi all i am new at all this i got some tomato palnt seeds and i put them in a little propergator from pound shop they are growing fast but they are real leggey can any one help me please :D

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: help with tom plants
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2011, 17:56 »
Ah, propagators again!

Get them out of it, if it's not too late, pot them up, burying the stem further down, even up to the leaves. Get them in a sunny window and put some foil behind them to reflect the light.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

DOBBO

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2011, 18:03 »
or nice one thanks alot for your advice :D

Craig69

• Experienced Member
  • Kinder - Cadbury & Little One ~ Newton Abbot
    • Jellyfish Window Cleaning
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2011, 18:06 »
My tomatos are started in a propagator, but also in pots.
As soon as the plant starts to show open the vents & leave to grow on.
I generally repot again if they aren't going in the ground & like already mentioned replant or pot deeper.
If you leave banana skins under the plants, as they rot away they will help your tomato plants grow & ripen

DOBBO

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2011, 19:06 »
thanks alot for your advice i will do that thanks again :D

compostqueen

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2011, 19:58 »
Always read the instructions on the packet about sowing times and growing on. That way you won't be sowing seeds too early.

Babstreefern

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2011, 20:37 »
I never use propagators at all.  My tom plants are looking really cool, and growing nicely.  I start all my seedlings, no matter what (unless they have to go straight into the ground), in my conservatory, and they do really well.