Broody on eggs, and a question about poo....

• 9 Replies

ordinarygull

Broody on eggs, and a question about poo....
« on: May 22, 2013, 10:54 »
Hi

I have a buff orpington who is two weeks into sitting on a clutch of bantam eggs - I'm very excited about this as it's my first attempt at hatching.

I've only seen her off the next once, but she must be coming out when no one is looking (like those Pandas on the kit kat add),.

She does appear to be doing the most revolting poos though - huge, runny and indesribably stinky - is this normal, and is it because she is saving them up to just go once a day??

splash101

Re: Broody on eggs, and a question about poo....
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2013, 12:18 »
It is very exciting hatching eggs.

It is very much like the kit kat ad, mine used to leap out of the coop, poop, quick slurp of water and food, quick run around the coop and leap back in. Probably all in less than a minute.

Those big old piles of poop are normal  :D

moomintroll

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 12:18 »
Hi
 my little banty black rock is 17 days into sitting on her eggs.  To begin with, she would not come out and I had to lift her very carefully off and make her go out for few minutes lol. But last few days, she has briefly nipped out for food and drink. I also have food and water in her coop which I don't normally allow lol. Her poos aren't runny but absolutely huge and extremely stinking (take your breath away smell) she is not mucking in her nest at all, so I guessed like you said they save it up for a one a day job :-D
My first attempt at hatching too :-) Good Luck x

Jo57

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 16:42 »
lucky you....mine would not leave the  nest to poo and I had to clean out the nest and wipe eggs several times! Disgusting.

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2013, 21:11 »
I have not heard of runny broody poos, all the ones I have seen have been huge and smelly.  Here is a picture   :ohmy: