Chickens with sneezes

• 7 Replies

andy and deb

Chickens with sneezes
« on: May 24, 2011, 19:48 »
Our Blue Star has not been out of the coop much today and has developed a sneeze... Help  :(

bantam novice

Re: Chickens with sneezes
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2011, 21:09 »
Hello Andy and Deb,

It sounds as if it could be a respiratory infection but it may be as well to check the "usual suspects".

Does she have a temperature? You can tell this by feeling under the wing of one of your other girls then under her wing to see if she feels warmer.

Little visitors - are there lice or redmite?  Has she been wormed recently?

Has she been poohing OK?

I am not an expert; however I understand that hens can get respiratory infections that will respond to anti-biotics so you will need to find a local chicken-friendly vet.

I am sure someone more exerienced will be along to advise you.  In the meantime good luck and keep us posted.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2011, 21:24 »
yes they need a visit to a vets for antibiotics. you need to get enough to treat all of your birds and also make sure you ask your vet how long the egg withdrawal period is.
Staffies are softer than you think.

gracie

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2011, 22:09 »
Obviously sneezing can be a sign off bad things going on and ensure you are on the lookout for other problems. Last week though 5 of my 6 were all sneezing with no other obvious symptoms. The next day I think I only heard 2 sneezes and I have heard none since and believe me I spend alot of time watching them. Please don't take this as there is nothing wrong with yours, I just know that last week I was really worried and it's nice to have a little hope that it's nothing serious. I do wonder if mine had a touch of hay fever.

andy and deb

« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2011, 23:04 »