Pumpkin problem

• 27 Replies

Biddy

Pumpkin problem
« on: May 04, 2009, 09:46 »
I'm new to allotments as we only got ours in February.  I want to grow some pumpkins for the kids for halloween.  I bought the suttons kids pumpkins seeds and of the 9 seeds only 2 came up - 1 is doing great and is rather big now, the other one was doing OK too but this morning some of the bottom leaves have shrivelled up to nothing so I tried to take them off and the whole plant came out in my hand.  It had no roots on it and when I looked in the soil it had 2 little white grubs in it.  What are these grubs and what am I doing wrong?  They are in individual pots in my conservatory.

shaun

Re: Pumpkin problem
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 09:51 »
dont sound very good sounds like a weevil type thingy.its not to late to sow again,where did you get the compost from ??
feed the soil not the plants
organicish
you learn gardening by making mistakes

Biddy

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2009, 10:01 »
I used John Innes No1.  Are they getting too wet do you think?

Eatyourgreens

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2009, 10:12 »
A lot of larvae of Weevils eat the roots of plants so as Shaun mentioned, it could be Weevils, but it could also be a watering issue or even a fungal disease, so many options, but seeing as you saw the larvae it would make them the No1 suspect.

Bob

shaun

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2009, 10:21 »
i would sow pumkins in a general purpose compost innes No1 is just for germinating and dont have enough food/nutrients,
you could try chitting the seed 1st eliminate any dudds

Biddy

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2009, 10:23 »
how do you do that?

shaun

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2009, 10:28 »