Storing seed potatoes

• 14 Replies

stooby doo

Storing seed potatoes
« on: February 14, 2012, 17:10 »
Hi everyone,

I'm a complete novice to this growing lark having only got an allotment last year so apologies if this is a dumb question...

I am going to try and grow some spuds this year for the first time.

Got the allotment favourites collection from Thompson and Morgan which consists of:

FE - Lady Christi
FE - Orla
SE - Kestrel
MC - Sante
MC - Lady Balfour
MC - Cara

I have got the 1st and 2nd earlies chitting away, but what do I do with the MC tubers ?
According to the advice from T&M, I should store them in a cool dry place but won't they also start chitting or grow white spindly shoots if it is dark.

I also got some onion sets and was wondering how to store these also before planting in March.

Kleftiwallah

Re: Storing seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2012, 17:25 »

Grab a few egg trays and inspect your spudlets for eyes, from which the growing shoots will emerge.  Have these facing upwards in the trays and leave in a cool frost free spot NOT in direct sunlight.   Do this for ALL your seed spuds.

For impartial information about the spuds you have go to

http://varieties.potato.org.uk/quick_search.php

Dig a deep trench and pop in as much well rotted muck as you can, stand your little darlings on this and cover carefully with soil.  Only earth up when you see the leaves/stems emerging from the soil and never cover all the leaves.    Best wishes and good luck.     Cheers,     Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2012, 17:36 »
You may as well start chitting the main crop as well, because you're correct in thinking that they only start anyway.

If kept cool and light they will keep like that for months, and they'll be going in at the end of March or in April - so it's not too soon anyway :)

arugula

• Winner - prettiest sunflower 2011
  • hic svnt leones