newbie - problems with parsnips and carrots

• 12 Replies

hebridean

newbie - problems with parsnips and carrots
« on: November 30, 2010, 17:33 »
Hi Guys,

I'm a novice gardener from the other hebrides. Just started my veg plot a few years ago. I grow broccoli, cabbage, swede, cauliflower, sprouts, leeks, beetroot, lettuce all from seed also potatoes all my veg is "organic"  but I have problems growing carrots and parsnips. Anyone got any idea's why? ;)
« Last Edit: November 30, 2010, 18:10 by Yorkie »
Kenny

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: newbie
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 18:09 »
Welcome to the site  :D

I'm going to pop you over to Grow Your Own for some veggie people to have a look at your question, but feel free to pop back into the Welcome forum to introduce yourself and for a proper welcome  :)
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

daisy1990

Re: newbie - problems with parsnips and carrots
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 18:21 »
what problems are you experiencing?  Carrots dont like being in stony ground (if the end of the carrot hits  stone it will fork (ie split in two) and they dont like to be in soil recently fertilised.  Carrot fly (causes holes) can be a major problem, using varieties like flyaway can help or planting in raised beds can help (this is alos useful if your soil is stony as you can remove stones in the raised bed.  Parsnips I always find really easy so not sure what your problem may be?
3 dogs, 8 chickens, 4 rabbits 2 guinea pigs, 10 quail, 2 fish and a demanding daughter who has gone to uni and left me with 29 animals to care for!!=)

hebridean

« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2010, 20:25 »
Yeah, they just don't come on. sometimes they do split, but just don't grow to any size. I'm thinking my soil isn't tilled enough? to firm maybe? was talking to another gardener who suggested growing a shorter type of carrot?  raised bed's is an option I've been toying with

Yorkie

• Global Moderator