Newbie to hatching

• 8 Replies

Chickway

Newbie to hatching
« on: February 13, 2011, 17:47 »
Good Evening.  I am new to incubating chickens.  I have four chickens in my garden for 4 years now and really enjoyed it.  We lost two in that really cold weather at Christmas.  So decided I would take the leap into hatcig my own which I have always wanted to do.  I brought 6 Partridge Cochin eggs off ebay and 5 of them hatched yesterday.  They are all doing well apart from one that seems to have a problem with his balance.  He seems to topple over and then cannot get back.  He can go quite along time without doing this although wobbly on his feet.  He is interested in eating and drinking and doing poos.  I cannot see any obvious problems but he did take an awful long time to hatch and and when he eventually did it took him a while to loose the egg shell which seemed to follow him around. 

If any one has got any ifo to put my mind at rest that would be much appreciated.  Hes only 24 hours old.

Many thanks.

hillfooter

Re: Newbie to hatching
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2011, 19:23 »
It maybe just exhausted from breaking out of the shell.  They can take a little time to find their feet.  Too early to worry yet.  They don't need anything to eat or drink for the first 36 hours but you can start to offer them some chick crumbs and a little water after 24hrs.