watery droppings

• 5 Replies

Tigerwren

• Experienced Member
watery droppings
« on: November 14, 2010, 17:51 »
Hi all,
just wanted some advice on one of my pols (25 wks no eggs yet) who has had a few watery droppings today.  It is the first real day that she has been free ranging so I was keeping quite a close eye.  I have had a look on the sticky about the poos and it doesn;t really look like any of the pictures.  the poo was watery with almost a whitish tinge to it and a bit lumpy in the middle.  Should I be concerned?  i don't think she can have been too hot and is it freezing outside.  She has been out all day as I said and I have seen her eating and drinking.  She definitely had a fair bit if mixed corn this afternoon.
Any advice very welcome and I have little experience.
Thanks
  ???

vickyb30

Re: watery droppings
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 18:12 »
I don't have much experience either, but my silkie started having them, then a few days later she started laying .. I don't know if thats the reason why  but the only one I have concluded with my hen. She has a huge poo in the morning watery ones all day and a huge one at night .. well did until now she has been in her bed for 2 days sitting on eggs  :blush:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 18:17 »
It may be nothing.  See how she gets on for a couple of days.

Tigerwren

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 18:43 »
Thank you very much for your replies Vickyb30 and Aunt Sally.  I thought i had better ask as my husband started worrying that maybe the children shouldn't be around the chickens etc.  he panics a lot about them holding the chickens and worries about 'germs'.  because I am new to all of this, he says that I am too laissez-faire!  :unsure:
Thanks again, I will keep an eye on all of them and see what happens!

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 18:47 »