Sweetcorn Advice

• 11 Replies

Avocetboy

Sweetcorn Advice
« on: August 17, 2010, 21:12 »
Hi everyone, my first post and I am pretty new to allotments.

We have had a large vegetable patch / allotment for a couple of years now with varying degrees of success. However, harvested a sweetcorn today as opening it up revealed that the Kernels were turning yellow. But, after peeling back the husk, only 20% of the cob appeared to have yellow, developed kernels, with the rest of it having what looked like, undeveloped kernels. Can anyone shed any light on this? Is it just a case of picking them too early?

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Sweetcorn Advice
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 21:19 »
Welcome to the site  :D

It sounds like they weren't fully pollinated to me.  Each kernel needs to be individually pollinated by the pollen which is found at the top of the plant.  If the cobs look generally full sized, it may well be too late for this year, but you can always try giving the stalks a regular tap to try to shake the pollen downwards towards the tassels / cobs.  Did you grow the corn in a block or a row?  If a row, that will contribute to poor pollination too.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Avocetboy

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2010, 21:25 »
Welcome to the site  :D

It sounds like they weren't fully pollinated to me.  Each kernel needs to be individually pollinated by the pollen which is found at the top of the plant.  If the cobs look generally full sized, it may well be too late for this year, but you can always try giving the stalks a regular tap to try to shake the pollen downwards towards the tassels / cobs.  Did you grow the corn in a block or a row?  If a row, that will contribute to poor pollination too.