re duckling

• 28 Replies

phil2005

re duckling
« on: June 07, 2009, 22:30 »
hi all . im new to site but seems good from wat ive read .....

right ive  recently picked up 6 baby duckling over the week end from sales what i thought i was bidding for piegones .... but turned out i had won 6 lovely little duckling and i come home and showed my 5 year old boy and wife so we made a 5ft x 5ft mesh shed /pen to pop them out  side on a day time with a 3ft rabbit hutch and straw as bedding but
all day there have been swiming about and playing eating plenty thrn around 18:00 hour as was  comeing in cold.. i went to the  pen to bring them in the house over night and there was one that had died ... (sad :( .... but im now wondering if it was shock or cold
and other thing i want to ask is about food as a kid my uncal had chickens and duck and gooses but was feeding chicken pellets so could i feed me duckling that plus as veggie and stuff or mashed up bread .....

thanxs

Vember

Re: re duckling
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2009, 22:37 »
Do you know how old they are?
Are they fluffy or do they have feathers?
If they are fluffy they could be cold, need heat? How deep was the water ?

They need special crumbs to eat for the first 2/3 weeks not chick crumbs! Then waterfowl grower after that :)

Sarah :D

Foxy

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 22:42 »
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

Do you know how old your ducklings are? If they dont have a mum they will not be able to waterproof themselves until feathered at 6 weeks old. If they are swimming in water and are younger than 6 weeks they may get chilled and that will be fatal.
It sounds like they may need heat if young so DO NOT keep them outside. If they are stressed from the auction they will need a little more care as will be stressed. Please keep them inside and give them a little extra heat.

Vember

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2009, 22:48 »
Phil where abouts do you live?