liquid seaweed

• 4 Replies

sootyfaestoney

liquid seaweed
« on: March 10, 2012, 17:23 »
hi folks,
newbie here, I have just been given a bit of land for my new allotmentish type thing.
It is a bit of a overgrown lawn just now but today was the first time I got into it with the strimmer.I aim to take photos of the progress, but I was reading this m,onths Grow It mag, and it mentioned liquid seaweed, and this made me think is that just seaweed soaked in water, like you do with your rhubardb leaves, as I live next to the sea, I can get seaweed nae bother.So I thought I would ask the crowd as it looks like this website is a mine of excellent tips and it is also a cracking read about all yoor sites.
cheers sooty

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: liquid seaweed
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2012, 17:30 »
I'm not sure about its preparation, but you need permission to harvest seaweed from the shore - don't assume you can just turn up and get it.  I'd also have concerns about its salt content if simply soaking it in water like comfrey leaves.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

solway cropper

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2012, 20:56 »
I make gallons of the stuff every year and my plants love it. Just leave it soaking in a large drum for a few months and then decant it into large bottles for storage until needed. It's very smelly and using it is a bit anti-social if you have close neighbours. When you fish out the part rotted seaweed bung it on your compost heap as it adds a lot of trace elements.

The salt content is negligible and won't have any effect on your crops.

sootyfaestoney

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2012, 21:01 »
cheers for that, I know the harbour master, so I wil clear it with him first, but as I posted the message I thought how is it going to rot in water, it was ment to be in water. Its seaweed.