Help or Advice Needed, Please.

• 6 Replies

RookieJim

• Experienced Member
Help or Advice Needed, Please.
« on: October 01, 2012, 08:17 »
Hi Guys,

I've posted a few times now but still really a newbie so please be gentle  :D

So I have the new plot, which I worked on both Saturday and Sunday (I put some pics on another post).
As the plot was a little neglected it has the usual culprits; bindweed; horsetail; couch grass etc which I knew I'd have to deal with.

The plot is 50m long and 8m wide so it's pretty big. It has some 'beds' dug by the previous tenant which are 7m x 2m. So we've decided to tackle it one bed at a time.

So I dug up the first one, and was shocked at just how many weeds were there. It's a wonder how anything but weeds grew there at all. It's also quite heavy clay soil.

Bearing in mind I'm a complete newbie, what is the best way to clear weeds from clay soil?

The Mrs Jim has the idea of digging it all up by hand, manually picking out the millions of weeds (this is just the one bed), getting a bit of organic weed killer in and then some manure and compost so we can at least get some onions and garlic in for the winter.

Is this the correct or best way to go about it?

Sorry for the long post.
Jim
British by birth, Scottish by the grace of God

mumofstig

• Global Moderator

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Help or Advice Needed, Please.
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2012, 21:50 »
What does your Mrs think is "organic weedkiller"?  To me, that's a contradiction in terms unless she means something other than what I'm thinking of.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

RookieJim

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2012, 07:46 »
What does your Mrs think is "organic weedkiller"?  To me, that's a contradiction in terms unless she means something other than what I'm thinking of.

Only she knows what goes on in her pretty little head!  :D