Strange occurrance?!

• 9 Replies

zanneray

Strange occurrance?!
« on: June 24, 2008, 17:57 »
Hello all,

I am new to chickens, but thoroughly enjoying it so far! We have had 3 pol hybrid birds since april. I just wanted to pick your brains about something that happened this afternoon. One of our chickens laid a soft shelled egg on the grass, 2 minutes later she laid another one! I was very surprised and wouldn't have believed if I hadn't actually seen it happen. [both had yolks] I did think that she had laid a hard shelled one this morning as she tends to lay alot earlier than the other 2. Is this something to be concerned about or is it just one of those things?

Any advice gratefully received,
Zanneray  :)

compostqueen

Strange occurrance?!
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2008, 18:01 »
there are loads of posts here about soft shells so I'd have a look through the Hen House posts. I have hens but don't know the answer as Aunt Sal and Grannie Annie are the resident eggsperts and will put you straight on all your henny questions. Fancy her laying two in succession  :shock:

I think the eggs will come good once they get into the swing of laying and as long as they have good layers pellets and fresh water they should be ace. Easy on the treats though

Jellyhead

Strange occurrance?!
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2008, 18:04 »
Looking forward to seeing the replies to this one as the same thing happened to Shirley. For me I am 100% sure, as she has been laying the most odd shaped triangulary type eggie of which there was one papery and one normal the other day. Since then, no abnormal shaped eggies but I am not sure she is still laying :shock:  :?  :D
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most!!

FCG

Strange occurrance?!
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2008, 18:12 »
Had she laid before? Just asking the obvious. What grit are you giving them?

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Strange occurrance?!
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2008, 18:48 »