Horse manure

• 11 Replies

hubballi

Horse manure
« on: March 18, 2010, 21:46 »
I have found a local riding school that has kindly told me I can have as much manure as I want. I can have some well rotted but it is underneath fresh so will have to dig deep.

I am going to use it in my salad trough, potatoes grow bags and raised beds in the garden. Can I just scatter it on the surface and mix it in or would you advise putting it under the compost ? I have never used it before.

BostonInbred

• Experienced Member
Re: Horse manure
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 22:58 »
U need to compost it. Make up bins using pallets lined with plastic and layer it with sawdust, wood whips, grass cuttings, hedge trimmings etc.

hubballi

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2010, 00:14 »
No, I need it for this season. It's rotted, not fresh.

whippersnapper

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2010, 07:18 »
You'll know whether it's too fresh or not: should have lost it's bad smell abd will be blacker/darker than the fresh stuff on top. When I turn up at our local field, I normally checkin with the farmer when I arrive to be polite and he'll tell me which stack is older. It's pretty obvious anyway.

Get it asap (like now!) and dig a good layer into the beds. Leave until planting. Easy.

Just keep away from your root veg.

gillie

« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2010, 10:01 »
Spread a layer about two inches deep on the potato bags and raised beds and maybe an inch in the salad trough.  It will disappear surprisingly quickly.

Gillie

hubballi

« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2010, 17:21 »
Ok, got two big bucket fulls from the side of the heap that is oldest. It's dark, wet and  slimey, doesn't really smell and full of worms. Should this be ok ?

gillie

« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2010, 17:30 »
Yes!

Gillie

whippersnapper

• Experienced Member
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2010, 18:03 »
Sounds like good stuff!

8)

hubballi

« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2010, 18:55 »