Tomatoes - what now?

• 10 Replies

Flowertot

Tomatoes - what now?
« on: July 11, 2015, 21:21 »
This is my first year growing tomatoes. I have 2 Gardener's Delight, 2 Moneymaker and 2 Tigerella in pots outside my kitchen. I have been tying them to bamboo canes and pinching out side shoots. They are about 5-6 feet tall and each have 3 trusses of small tomatoes so far. When should I pinch out the tops? And then what happens - will they produce more and more side shoots? Also, do I take off leaves shading the little tomatoes or leave them alone? Thanks for any advice.

Headgardener22

Re: Tomatoes - what now?
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2015, 08:00 »
I would pinch out the tops with between 4 & 6 trusses.

Yes that will encourage more sideshoots (because the grwth hormone has nowhere else to go). Keep taking them out.

Strip off the leaves that aren't next to a truss (either above or below). This will be most of the leaves below the first truss and, if there are three or four leaves between each truss, one or two there. If there are only two leaves between each truss, leave them alone. (The number of leaves between each truss depends upon the variety).

Growster...

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2015, 08:27 »
Now that's interesting HG, I never realised that there's a rule to knocking out leaves on toms, although I've always taken out the lower ones, to increase ventilation!

Many of our outside toms have only gone to two or three trusses, but as there is a strong contingent of Marmande, I'm not worried. The plants on The Patch are Marmande and Sungold reverts, and they're developing like oak trees, so I'll look out your suggestion there as well!

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2015, 08:34 »
I do not take off healthy leaves, only those that are yellowing and have done their job.