Help please new mum !!!

• 9 Replies

suep

Help please new mum !!!
« on: June 19, 2009, 09:04 »
Hi all
I am new to chicken keeping and have 4 hens that play all day in my very large garden with my 4 dogs and 4 cats.
When my ginger hen first came home she was very happy and the first to come and see me when I went out into the garden to let me know that every thing was OK and I wasn't to bad at this chicken keeping after all. All the others then started to lay but not her till one day she looked very unwell .I realised she was egg bound and put her into a warm bucket of water and sat with her for hours till she delivered TWO eggs with a little help (I never thought I would be putting my finger into such a personal place with a chicken).
She went on to be a very good layer until about three weeks ago when she went broody. I did try putting her out of the house to get on with life but this hen dose things her way !!!
I gave in and got her two fertile eggs to hatch They should be hatching next week She is now in a puppy pen with her eggs but will not come out even to poop and is not drinking or eating .I dont know if the eggs will hatch as they are brown so I couldn't see if they had chick inside when I tried candling them.
How long should I leave her with the eggs if they haven't hatchet by the 20th day .
Is it ok to leave her in the puppy pen with her chicks.(its not very big )
Is it ok to leave the pen in the garden if the wether gets wet or could.
I think I am panicking a bit and realizing how little I know !!!!!

Please can someone help .

Sue

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: Help please new mum !!!
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2009, 09:21 »
lift her out once or twice every day so that she will poop, eat, drink and have a dust bath.