Who uses green manure?

• 22 Replies

mrswashi

• Experienced Member
Who uses green manure?
« on: October 09, 2012, 22:10 »
Hi
Being new to this and about to get my allotment in 2 days!
I like the sound of green manure/compost, any views
Manda

Truffle

• Experienced Member
Re: Who uses green manure?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 22:19 »
Hi,

I considered using green manure (mustard), but the thought of all that digging did put me off a bit.

If you were just doing one small bed rotation each year and not put off by the digging in process then I can see the benefit of it.

Havent seen anyone else on my site using it, they all use the local free horse manure.

Having given my opinion I would like to point out that I am fairly new to this but my Uncle used to swear by it at his allotment.

mrswashi

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 22:29 »
Thank you
I suppose I don't know yet whether there is a free supply of manure, I'll find out on Thurs. I only have a small quarter size plot, so not Huge amounts of digging. I think!
Manda

Annen

• Anne's Gardening Diary
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2012, 22:32 »
I've tried it on some small beds but with no provable results.  
The rye I put in did seem to leave the soil more friable, it is heavy clay. But there was a fair bit of digging to do.  Phacelia is okay, it dies back by itself over winter.  Field beans were supposed to die back over winter but didn't, so I had to cut them and dig them in.
As I said, I'm not sure how much good they do, my feeling is that it is not as good as well-rotted horse manure, but they must be better than nothing and they fill spaces and look as if you are doing something!:)
Anne

solway cropper

« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2012, 22:38 »
I've never bothered with it as I have a good supply of well rotted compost and seaweed which I apply as mulches. If you're going to grow something in a bed it might as well be something you can eat.

allotmentann