Absolute Beginner

• 6 Replies

greenhorn

Absolute Beginner
« on: June 04, 2010, 20:47 »
Hi all,

never had an allotment or really done any gardening, I've just taken on a plot that has lain fallow for over a year, its clay soil and basically just like a field but has been worked successfully in the past. So far with the help of my son we've half strimmed it, cut back a load of overgrown hawthorn and some overhanging tree branches from the far end of the plot where we'll build shed, compost etc.
 Apparently the plot gets waterlogged on one side, so we intend to dig a ditch leading to a wildlife pond that we're also going to have.

I know it's going to take a while to get the soil back to workable and fertile, is there anything I can grow this year, maybe on a raised bed..... clerk who let the plot said she'd like to see something grown this year so she can see the plots being worked.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Absolute Beginner
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 20:53 »
I hope the clerk isn't expecting miracles  - sounds like you've already started making progress on a difficult site!

Have a look at these links, they'll give you an idea of what happens when, plus some other articles about planning and clearing allotments

http://www.allotment-garden.org/growing_information.php

http://www.allotment-garden.org/vegetable/general/sowing-harvest-vegetable-chart.php

http://www.allotment-garden.org/articles.php

P.S. Welcome to the site :lol:
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Livinhope

« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2010, 21:35 »
Welcome.