School Allotment

• 35 Replies

davedrivesamini

School Allotment
« on: September 19, 2006, 21:29 »
I am a geography teacher with no gardening knowledge. As part of our school's bid for eco-school status I have organised composting of fruit/vegetable waste from the canteen and staff room. The next logical step was to ask for an allotment (so that i could use my compost) which I have been given!

I have four parallel strips measuring 1.5m x 5m (with a 1.5m walkway between each one). At the moment the area is grassy - I've read on here about covering the grass with black plastic to kill off the grass. I'd like to get the students involved in as much of the work as possible, but due to the nature of schools I need an idea of timescale:
1. how long to kill grass?
2. when can i start growing stuff?
3. what can i grow? (I want to use the produce in food tech lessons)
4. what else should I be thinking about?

Thank you in advance for all your help!

David

noshed

School Allotment
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2006, 22:12 »
Sounds like you've got an airport, not an allotment - giant paths. Anyway what you could do is strip off the turf and stack it up. This will a) build the muscles of your students and b) create lovely loam in a few months.
You will be able to sow broad beans soon and plant garlic and onions if you fancy it.
Sounds like a great project. Good luck.
I've found Grow Your Own Vegetables by Joy Larkom very useful - cheap and knowledgeable.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

silver8

• Experienced Member
School Allotment
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2006, 09:33 »
Sounds like a great idea and good luck.
Will it be organic as I think it is important to teach students how to look after the environment. If it is then companion planting is important. Sunflowers are great for attracting the bees and are great fun to grow. I know my children love them and cannot wait to see how big they grow.